Skip to content

Administration & Trustees

Browse Section

The University is governed by a Board of Trustees that includes the resident bishop of the Indiana Area United Methodist Church, the president of the University and the president of the Alumni Association as ex officio members. The Board sets policy and goals, oversees the University’s finances, approves academic programs and authorizes the awarding of degrees.

The President of UIndy is Dr. Robert L. Manuel, who oversees operations of the University with the assistance of his senior leadership team, the Cabinet

The University has three colleges and seven schools encompassing dozens of academic departments and offices, as well as two centers of excellence, the Center for Aging & Community and the Center of Excellence in Leadership of Learning. In addition, UIndy is home to the Richard G. Lugar Academy and the Institute for Civic Leadership & Mayoral Archives. 

President Robert Manuel

Dr. Manuel became the University’s ninth president in July 2012 and immediately spearheaded a comprehensive strategic planning process. The resulting strategic planning framework was adopted by UIndy’s Board of Trustees in May 2013.


UIndy's Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees sets goals and established policy for the University, assures sound management, and provides funds and resources needed to support the operations of the institution. The Board approved a five-year plan of capital projects and educational enhancements that comprise a $50 million investment in the university and neighboring community.


Strategic plan

UIndy’s Vision 2030 Strategic Plan comprises a list of strategic initiatives the university will pursue for the next five years and beyond in order to provide an unparalleled learning experience and environment for students while enhancing the neighborhood and serving as an anchor in the city.

View the Vision 2030 Two-Year Update ►